COMET Governance

The COMET Program is governed by an Executive Board and an Advisory Panel. The Executive Board is made up of the heads of the training organizations that sponsor the program. The Advisory Panel is composed of representatives of the academic and operational forecasting communities that we serve.


Advisory Panel Members
Last updated on: 2013-06-01

  • Dr. Jennifer Alexander (2015 - 2017)
    University Representative
  • Mr. Dan Banks (Indefinite Term)
    NAVY Representative
  • Dr. Jeff Basara (2014 - 2016)
    University Representative
  • Mr. Kenneth Carey (Chair) (Indefinite Term)
    Private Sector Representative
  • Mr. Alberto Flores (2015 - 2017)
    At-Large Representative
  • Dr. Rob Foshay, CPT (2014 - 2016)
    Private Sector Representative
  • Dr. Vittorio (Victor) Gensini (2016 - 2018)
    University Representative
  • Dr. Andrew Gettleman (2011 - 2016)
    NCAR Representative
  • Dr. Steven Goodman (Indefinite Term)
    NESDIS Representative
  • Mr. Gary McWilliams (Indefinite Term)
    JPSS Representative
  • Dr. Jon Nese (2013 - 2015)
    University Representative
  • Mr. Vesa Nietosvaara (2014 - 2016)
    International Representative
  • Ms. Heleen ter Pelkwijk (2013 - 2015)
    International Representative
  • Dr. Mohan Ramamurthy (Indefinite Term)
    UCP Representative
  • Ms. Nezette Rydell (Indefinite Term)
    NWS Representative
  • Dr. Kathy Sherman-Morris (2013 - 2015)
    University Representative
  • Mr. Brad Snyder (Indefinite Term)
    MSC Representative
  • Ms. Jennifer Milton (MSC Alternate)
    MSC Substitute Representative
  • Mr. Brent Shaw (2013 - 2015)
    Private Sector Representative
  • Mr. LeRoy Spayd (Indefinite Term)
    NWS Representative
  • Mr. Bruce Thomas (2015 - 2017)
    Private Sector Representative

COMET Federal Program Officer:

  • Tony Mostek
    National Weather Service

Office of Science and Tech. Representative:

  • Mr. Christopher Hedge
    NOAA/National Weather Service

UCAR Representatives:

  • Dr. Rich Jeffries
    Director, The COMET Program, UCAR

Executive Board Members
Last updated on: 2013-06-01

  • Dr. Tom Bogdan (Chair)
    President, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR)
    Alternate: Ms. Emily CoBabe-Ammann
  • Mr. Jeff Arnold
    Senior Scientist, US Army Engineer Institute for Water Resources
  • Dr. Levi Brekke - Observer
    Water and Climate Research Coordinator, Denver Federal Center
    Alternate: Mr. Chuck Hennig - Observer
  • Mr. Roger Deslandes
    Principal, Bureau of Meteorology Training Center
    Alternate: Mr. Duncan Tippins
  • Mr. John Furgerson
    Outreach/User Liason, NOAA JPSS
    Alternate: Mr. Gary McWilliams
  • Rear Admiral Tim Gallaudet
    Commander, NMOC
    Alternate: Commander Mark Butler
    Alternate: Dr. Michael Ryan
  • Dr. Mark Higgins
    Head of Training, EUMETSAT
  • Mr. Jim Hurrell
    Director, NCAR
  • Mr. Michael Jean
    Director General, Canadian Centre for Meteorological and Environmental Prediction
    Alternate: Ms. Jennifer Milton
  • Mr. Gregory Mandt
    GOES-R System Program Director, NOAA/NASA/GSFC
    Alternate: Mr. James Gurka
  • Mr. Louis W. Uccellini
    Assistant Administrator for Weather Services, NOAA/NWS
    Alternate: Ms. Laura Furgione
    Alternate: Mr. John Ogren

UCAR Representatives:

  • Dr. Emily CoBabe-Ammann
    Director, UCAR Community Programs
  • Dr. Rich Jeffries
    Director, The COMET Program, UCAR